Time To Transform

I would like to thank everyone who donated to After Orange: Halfway Home.  Unfortunately, we were unable to keep our doors open due to funding, zoning and life.  Jamie’s interstate compact was successful (thank you Parole and Probations) and she is now back in California getting her life together after ten years of incarceration.  

With that said, I am so thankful to everyone who has participated, donated and inspired this incredible journey.  Many lessons have emerged throughout this ‘After Orange’ experience and it all started with the concept of documenting people as they left prison in Las Vegas.  As I followed a woman into Hope For Prisoners about 4 years ago, I fell in love with this program.  Inspiring and authentic, I continued to document the program along with the women coming out of FMWCC (Florence McClure Women’s Correctional Center).  

As I observed the housing problem in Las Vegas, after seeing first hand the backup of women up for parole who were not being released, After Orange transformed into a housing project – After Orange: Halfway Home.  Passionate and anxious to help solve the problem, I opened the home for women to parole to once released from prison.  I built the program from scratch and took a leap of faith that it would all work out.  With the help of friends, family and the community, I was able to keep the home and program running for 8 months.  

Was the program successful?

There were many times I felt like a failure throughout this process.  Many sleepless nights wondering how I was going to cover the rent.  Many moments of uncertainty – was I breaking the law?  The licensing process seemed so overwhelming that I wanted to showcase first hand what it would take to open and run a home…thinking that somehow we would be able to make it work.  I didn’t know what I didn’t know.  I would soon find out that no one really knew what was happening, let alone why it was happening.  As I discovered each barrier, I documented and shared.  I soon found myself at the center of what felt like a political pandemonium.

The problem seemed to be a culmination of bureaucratic bewilderment, indigence and societal apathy hiding safely under a dark rock that I inadvertently uncovered.  After Orange: Halfway Home became a catalyst for change in that broken system, calling attention to the problem.  In that way, I believe the program was successful.  

We were not able to fill up the home completely at any given time.  The law prevented us from having more than 5 ex-offenders living in the home at once without a license, which I was conveniently unaware of when opening the home.  The program, on the other hand, seemed to keep the women on track and focused on their goals.  This included daily meetings, life planning, emotional wellness tools, in a safe and sober living environment, which did prove to be effective in assisting the women towards independence.  However, the inconsistency of funding, along with trying to remain open, also served as a source of stress for everyone involved.  Especially me.

Jamie was a huge source of security and strength for me as I was running and operating the home.  Her being in prison somehow gave me the confidence that I was capable of this endeavor.  She was there in Las Vegas referring women she personally knew to live at the home and we figured it would be a great place for these women to go and get the support they so desperately needed upon release.  Our family friend who owned the home supported us in our endeavor.  She had the house, while we built the program.  Ambitious, naive and compassionate, I opened the doors November 1st, 2016.

I do take accountability and responsibility for my naivety, lack of planning and overall ignorance to this uncharted territory.  Ten years ago I never had a sister going into prison and ten years later I never had a sister coming out of prison.  She was my partner from prison but was this really what she would want to do when she got out?  Seems like a lot of pressure on someone who has been institutionalized for the past 10 years.

So…we closed the doors of the home almost immediately after her release.  Jamie could see how stressed out I was and she compelled me to pull the plug.  

Thanks to our house manager Danielle, we had been working with the specialty courts to get women into the home.  We were also working with the N.D.O.C (Nevada Department of Corrections) to bring women who were expiring (or not on parole) into the home.  The reality though, was that we would need a license in order to bring more than 5 women into the home and we were not in a ‘city zone’ that would even allow us to have that permit.  Had I known this from the beginning, I probably wouldn’t have opened the home, however, being a catalyst for change was worth it.

As someone who truly believes in transformation, I have turned this experience into a lesson.  Between the politics, personalities and overall disorder I cannon balled into, we were able to help some women transform their lives and I believe we participated in helping transform a system in need of a face lift.  Now, After Orange can transform into its next phase.  

My passion for transforming the prison culture and mass incarceration into a more healthy system is shared by many.  One major issue that has been contributing to this strife is the tension between law enforcement and urban communities.  Last year, Hope For Prisoners hosted a summit called ‘Repairing The Breach’.  The summit focused on grassroots organizations from around the country that are transforming poverty, violence, crime, despair and recidivism from within the communities that those tensions exist.

Now, After Orange is continuing to follow the efforts of those community leaders and grassroots organizations.  What is working?  My goal is to cover how law enforcement and communities across the country are working together to ‘bridge the gap’.  If you are interested in the cause, please watch and share this video.  

Thanks again for all of your love and support!

Author: After Orange

After Orange is a non-profit organization committed to providing guidance and support for women who want to change their lives after being released from the correctional system. Our long term goal is to discover and implement more effective methods of rehabilitation in the correctional system and to help influence change in the judicial system.

Leave a Reply

